Wikipedia Loves Art, I guess?

Can someone tell me what this is about?  I feel like I want to be interested in it and uphold it as some beacon of the revolutionary spirit of culture and the internets, except I have no idea what the video is telling me.  Here’s the flickr page it links to:

http://www.flickr.com/groups/wikipedia_loves_art/

Still don’t know what it means.  You’d think Brooklyn Museum, the uploader of the video, and Jimmy Wales, the founder of Wikipedia, would be able to drop some production value on this vid before throwing it up as an ad on Youtube.  Like, how does that look for the contemporary art movement to the general masses when its staunchest proponents can’t throw some visual flare into a vid?

Like, at least a garageband beat low in the mix or something, right?  Not that that’d help me ascertain what the video was about, but at least I’d be able to bop my head in confusion and get sucked into the total immersive ability of editing to lull me into a state of passive consumption.  Then I’d realize I wasn’t paying attention and I’d think it was my fault I missed the point of the video, because I have ADD, not because the video’s message is ambiguous.  And that, kids, is why you should under score.  To make your audience feel stupid if they don’t get “it”.

One Response to Wikipedia Loves Art, I guess?

  1. David says:

    Here’s from the description of the video:

    “Wikipedia Loves Art is a scavenger hunt and free content photography contest coordinated by the Brooklyn Museum with Carnegie Museum of Art, The Film Society of Lincoln Center, Honolulu Academy of Arts, Houston Museum of Natural Science, The Hunter Museum of American Art, Indianapolis Museum of Art, The Jewish Museum, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Museum of Modern Art, New-York Historical Society, Smithsonian American Art Museum, Taft Museum of Art, V&A aimed at illustrating Wikipedia articles. The event is planned to run for the whole month of February 2009, and the name is a play off of Valentine’s Day. Although there are planned events at each location, you can go on your own at any time during the month.”

    I’m guessing that the “production value” was so simple because museum budgets for video are usually less than a combo meal at Hardee’s.

Leave a Reply

